1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Shania Twain - Up

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


Shania Twain - Up

The Bottom Line

This 19 track opus is sure to please most fans of both pop and modern country.
<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->


  • "She's Not Just A Pretty Face"
  • "Nah!"
  • "I Ain't Goin' Down"


  • "C'est La Vie"


  • Double album, containing the "green" country and "red" pop discs.
  • Released By Mercury Records.
  • All songs written by Shania Twain and her husband R. J. "Mutt" Lange.

Guide Review - Shania Twain - Up

Shania Twain returns five years and 19 million albums later with her ambitious 19 song collection "Up!" The previous album, "Come On Over," was released twice in two different mixes. As a way to not "confuse" or "mislead" fans, Shania recorded two versions for the USA. There's also a third version for the Asian market.

The songs range from bouncy & fun tracks like "I'm Gonna Getcha Good!" to the seriousness of "I Ain't Goin' Down." There's only a couple ballads, with the best of the lot being "When You Kiss Me." One song I didn't like was "C'est La Vie" which sounds like ABBA's "Dancing Queen."

I think any modern country music fan will really enjoy the country mix, as it's decidedly more country sounding than her last couple albums.

<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.