1. Entertainment

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

CD Review: New Favorite - Alison Krauss + Union Station

line Alison Krauss + Union Station - New Favorite
Reviewed by Jolene Downs

New Favorite is the title of the new album by Alison Krauss. It is an acoustic Blue Grass album released off the Uni/Rounder label. It features some great instrumentals by some very talented artists. Alison has an incredibly pure voice and is one of the best fiddle players I have heard. She is joined by Union Station - Barry Bales, Ron Block, Jerry Douglas, and Dan Tyminski. This is a good album to pop in while you are relaxing - it has a very soothing feel to it.

"Let Me Touch You For Awhile" is a beautiful love ballad. Alison has the perfect voice for this type of song. He is

New Favorite Cover
 More Of This Feature
• CD Review: New Favorite
• Reviews by Jolene
• CD Review Index
• FREE Country Newsletter
• Country Chatroom
• Country Forums
 Elsewhere On The Web
• Alison Krauss + Union Station (Official)
drowning himself in self pity and alcohol, and she tells him to just let her touch him for awhile. She can make him forget all the bad stuff for awhile.

"The Boy Who Wouldn't Hoe Corn" features the lead vocals of Dan Tyminski. It is a traditional Blue Grass song. He wants to marry someone and she tells him she isn't marrying a lazy man who won't hoe his own corn. It is a cute song.

"Choctaw Hayride" is an instrumental. I love the banjo in this. I could sit and listen to this type of thing all day and be perfectly happy. The bass in the background makes your toes tap right along.

"I'm Gone" is another beautiful ballad. It is about lost love. She tells him she doesn't know why she thought she could make him love her. If she is gone and he wants to find her, he just needs to look inside of his heart. Very pretty song.

"Bright Sunny South" again features Dan Tyminski on the lead vocals. It talks about a young boy who has barely finished the years of his youth heading off to war. It talks of his feelings in leaving his family. He has his Bible in his backpack to show him the way.

"It All Comes Down to You" is a good tune that tells her to accept her share of the responsibility for things gone wrong.

"Take Me For Longing" says "Don't choose me because I'm faithful or kind. If your heart settles on me, then I'm available for the taking. Take me for longing or leave me behind." She wants loved for who she is, not for a specific quality or two.

The title track, "New Favorite," has a haunting sound to it. I could see this song doing very well on the radio if given a chance. It has something in it that reaches out and grabs you. She is telling him she knows that he has a new "favorite." She isn't blaming him, just accepts it for what it is.

I really enjoyed this album. At first it was a little slow for me, but I tend to move at a fast pace most of the time. It forced me to take a deep breath, relax and go with the flow. Once I was relaxed and listening to it, I thought it was great. It is a wonderful album for the Bluegrass fan to add to their collection. I think it is close enough to the main flow of country that anyone loving the ballads would like it as well.

Song List:

  1. Let Me Touch You for Awhile
  2. Boy Who Wouldn't Hoe Corn
  3. Lucky One
  4. Choctaw Hayride
  5. Crazy Faith
  6. Momma Cried
  7. I'm Gone
  8. Daylight
  9. Bright Sunny South
  10. Stars
  11. It All Comes Down to You
  12. Take Me for Longing
  13. New Favorite

Sound clips courtesy of Barnes & Noble.
All graphics © Shelly Fabian, with the exception of the album cover, used with permission of Rounder


Subscribe to the Newsletter




[ To the Welcome Page | To the "g" Files ]


©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.