1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Julianne Hough - 'Sounds Of The Season: The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection'

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


Julianne Hough - 'Sounds Of The Season: The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection'

Julianne Hough - 'Sounds Of The Season: The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection'

Mercury Nashville

The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection Bottom Line:

"Dancing With The Stars" sensation, Julianne Hough, shocked country music fans when she released her self-titled album full of great tunes. It was clear that she could dance, but who would have thought she had such an incredible voice? Now, bringing more music to her fans, Julianne has recorded a Christmas album called The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection. This is a perfect record to listen to while decorating the house, or simply relaxing with some friends.

About Julianne Hough

Julianne Hough originally made her mark in the entertainment world as one of the leading dancers on the ABC hit show "Dancing With The Stars." As soon as she appeared on the first episode of the fourth season, it was clear that Julianne had a special talent. During season five, she became the youngest dancer on the show to win with her dancing partner, Apolo Anton Ohno. Julianne also won during season six with two-time Indianapolis Champion, Helio Costroneves.

Although she was having a huge amount of success on "Dancing With The Stars," there was always a burning desire to do something more. That "something" was to be a country music singer. In May, Julianne released her self-titled debut album. Although there were mixed reviews, her album went to the top of Billboard Country charts and to number three on the Billboard 200. This was huge considering that this was her first record.

Her debut single "That Song In My Head" also made a huge splash as a video on Country Music Television and Great American Country.

Julianne Hough was able to jump on board one of country's hottest tours when she became an opening act for Brad Paisley.

She made her first appearance at the CMA Festival in June. During this week, fans flocked to see her and waited in line for hours just to get an autograph. This proved that Julianne has not only made a smooth transition into country music, but she has also been accepted by the fans. It seems that every time she steps in front of a microphone, nothing but pure talent comes out.

Now, with the holidays just around the corner, Julianne has released an awesome collection of Christmas favorites.

The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection - The Songs:

The first tune off of this record is an instrumental called the "Sound Of Christmas." It starts off with a great mandolin solo and then goes into a neat little Christmas tune. It is only about a minute long, but sets up the holiday mood perfectly.

"Jingle Bell Rock" is the second tune on this album and Julianne Hough rocks it out. She truly makes it her own. Although it has been recorded by numerous artists, this version ranks at the top.

Julianne teams up with country star Phil Vassar for two songs that have been blended into one. "It Wasn't His Child" and "Mary Did You Know" may be two separate songs, but you would never know. It tells the story of how Joseph raised Jesus as if he was his own child. It explains the different situations that Joseph had to face as well as the things Mary had to go through. It is a unique combination and it sounds great.

"Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree" speeds things back with with a great version of this classic tune. During the holidays, people attend numerous parties to help celebrate the festivities. This song has always been one that explains all of the things people do while celebrating and there is nothing that will help you get in the mood more than this great track.

"Christmas Memories" is a short little section that features Julianne talking about some of her favorite Christmas memories.

Bringing the record to an end is the classic tune "Have Yourself A Merry Christmas." This is a Christmas favorite for many. It is a perfect tune to play for someone who is far away or right next door.

Sounds Of The Season: The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection is a great Christmas album for anyone who is looking to help get in the holiday spirit and can be purchased at any local Target store.

Release Date: October 14th, 2008 - Universal Music

The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection Track List:

  1. Sound Of Christmas (Instrumental)
  2. Jingle Bell Rock
  3. Feliz Navidad
  4. It Wasn't His Child/Mary Did You Know (With Phil Vassar)
  5. Santa Baby
  6. Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree
  7. Christmas Memories (Julianne Shares Her Christmas Memories)
  8. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - A-L
  6. Julianne Hough - Sounds Of The Season: The Julianne Hough Holiday Collection Review - Review of Julianne Hough's Holiday Collection

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.