1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Lady Antebellum - Lady Antebellum

About.com Rating 4.5 Star Rating
User Rating 5 Star Rating (1 Review)


Lady Antebellum - Lady Antebellum

Lady Antebellum - Lady Antebellum

Capitol Nashville
Bottom Line:

There is a new group in Nashville that everyone needs to keep an eye on. Their name is Lady Antebellum and their self-titled debut album is being released by Capitol Records. If you love your country rockin', with a perfect blend of soul, you'll love the sound of this awesome trio. The group consists of Charles Kelly, Hillary Scott and Dave Haywood. Prepare yourself for something awesome.

I am typically one of those critics who tends to lean more towards the classic country sound and the independent style of country music. However, from the first time I heard Lady Antebellum, it was obvious they were something special. Although their style is country, they don't fit the standard "country" mold. It's clear they have been influenced by country music, but also the sweet soulful sounds of the 70's.

To say they are "different" is an under statement. To say this group is one of the best things that has happened to Nashville is clear. When they formed in 2006, Charles Kelly, Hillary Scott and Dave Haywood probably had no clue that they would be accepted so quickly in country music. Their fans are eating them up, while their first single "Love Don't Live Here" continues to climb the charts.

Two of Nashville's finest producers stepped up to the task of producing this amazing album. Paul Worley and Victoria Shaw are both established in Nashville for their various contributions to country music, so to know they were behind the controls is an added bonus.

The album cover has a different look to it. All three artists are on the front, but their look is very unique. They're very well dressed, yet they have a modern style as well.

Hearing Lady Antebellum will get you moving regardless of your mood. It doesn't matter how much you fight the new sounds of country music, this is something worth listening to.

Lady Antebellum

Lady Antebellum

Capitol Nashville
The first song off this album was also the first single released to country radio. "Love Don't Live Here" is a tune about a relationship gone wrong, but now the old fling has came back. She thinks everything should be fine, and they can just pick up where they left off. Well, that's not the case in this situation. Charles Kelly gives his answer back. He tells his former lover that he's doing fine. He pretty much tells her that she can go anywhere, but his apartment. Just about everyone should relate to this song. If you are looking for a way to tell that special "ex" what you're thinking, get this album for them, they'll get the hint.

Hillary Scott takes the microphone on "Long Gone." This is another great song about breaking up with that special someone. Hillary has no problem telling her boyfriend that their relationship is over. Their lyrics are great and they get the point across.

"Slow Down Sister" is a personal favorite. The harmonies are remarkable. This is a rockin' love song. Charles Kelly is singing lead in this one. It's about a man who knows he is falling in love, but he also knows it's going way too fast. So, he's telling her they need to slow down, and do it the right way. This is one of the best songs on the whole album.

"One Day You Will" is a great tune. It is a song offering hope to anyone who has been down on their luck.

Lady Antebellum's self-titled debut album is one of the best albums to come out of Nashville to date. It's a must have for any collection!

Release Date: April 15th, 2008 - Capitol Records Nashville

Track List:

  1. Love Don't Live Here Anymore
  2. Lookin' For A Good Time
  3. All We'd Ever Need
  4. Long Gone
  5. I Run To You
  6. Love's Lookin' Good On You
  7. Home Is Where The Heart Is
  8. Things People Say
  9. Slow Down Sister
  10. Can't Take My Eyes Off You
  11. One Day You Will
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Artists A-Z
  5. Duos and Groups
  6. Lady Antebellum
  7. Lady Antebellum - Lady Antebellum

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.