1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Kenny Chesney - 'Lucky Old Sun'

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


Kenny Chesney - 'Lucky Old Sun' (Deluxe Version)

Kenny Chesney - 'Lucky Old Sun' (Deluxe Version)

BNA Nashville

Lucky Old Sun Bottom Line

Kenny Chesney's fans are in for a treat with his latest album, Lucky Old Sun. The album has a strong "island" flavor that will have you wishing you were living in paradise all year long. Although it is a stretch from the standard country music sound, Lucky Old Sun opens up a whole new chapter to the Kenny Chesney story book.

Everyone Loves Kenny

It seems that everyone loves Kenny Chesney. He is one of the highest selling artists in country music and his concerts appeal to everyone from frat boys to veterans. No matter where he goes, fans flock to see him even if it is just for one quick picture. He has become of America's most famous acts and has appeared in countless magazines, articles, and even documentaries. His music has expanded over the years from a classic country sound to some of the most "island" influenced records ever made.

It is no secret that Kenny heads to the Caribbean every chance he can, but it has been obvious over the last few albums that Kenny holds this place extremely close to his heart. He goes there to relax as well as gain inspiration for some of his best songs to come to life.

There is never a dull moment when it comes to listening to a Kenny Chesney album either. He always has a wide variety of special guests and they are not limited to just country music. He has recorded with everyone from Tim McGraw and Willie Nelson to Uncle Kracker. This past year, he teamed up with Tracy Lawrence and Tim McGraw for an amazing hit song called "Find Out Who Your Friends Are." This quickly became a fan favorite and an anthem that friends played for one another across the country.

These days it seems that he is popping up everywhere, including football games. Although he has had his rough patches, it always seems that he comes out on the top. Now, with the help of an awesome new album, Kenny will soon be at the top once again for the fans to enjoy.

Lucky Old Sun is by far one of his most unique projects ever. The only thing that I can compare it to is his Old Blue Chair record. Not trying to compare the two, but it will give you an idea of what to expect.

The first track is a neat duet called "I'm Alive." It is very acoustic, and paints a picture several different visions that the character has went through. Dave Matthews teamed up with Kenny and their voices blended perfectly.

The first single off the record is a song called "Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven." This is another duet which features the reggae band The Wailers. Sometimes people are enjoying life so much, there is no way that they could imagine life coming to an end. It's not that you don't believe in heaven or question where you are going when it is over, you're just not ready to go yet.

"Ten With A Two" has a great feel to it and is actually the most country song on the record. Have you ever picked up someone at the bar who was hot, but then the next morning you wake up and they are one of the ugliest people who have ever seen? Well, if you have then you can relate to what Kenny is singing about in this song.

Bringing the record to an end is a duet with Willie Nelson. It's funny, most people take for granted that the sun will always be there. Well "That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)" brings to life a whole new respect and admiration for the sun and the life it has.

Fans can enjoy this record from start to finish. Although it is a bit different, it sounds great which is what music is all about.

Lucky Old Sun Deluxe Fan Pack

For those of you who have already seen a copy of this at the store, make sure you pay attention to which copy you are buying. There is a "Deluxe Fan Pack" and then there is also a regular version that is a bit cheaper.

The "Deluxe Fan Pack" contains four live songs that were recorded on two separate occasions. "Got A Little Crazy" and "Boston" were recorded in Boston at the Gillette Stadium and "Soul Of A Sailor" and "Guitars and Tiki Bars" were recorded in the Florida Keys at the Hogs Breath. There are also other features included on the "Deluxe Fan Pack." Fans can access the video to "Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven" and can watch the opening from this year's "Corona Extra Poets & Pirates Tour." If you are still looking for one more added bonus, two lucky fans and a guest will be flown to the opening date of Kenny's next tour. For only a couple bucks more, it really is worth it to get the "Deluxe Fan Pack," but the regular version is great too.

Release Date: October 28th, 2008 - BNA Nashville

Lucky Old Sun Track List:

  1. I'm Alive (With Dave Matthews)
  2. Way Down Here
  3. Boats
  4. Everybody Wants To Go Heaven (With The Wailers)
  5. Down The Road (With Mac McAnally)
  6. Spirit Of A Storm
  7. Ten With A Two
  8. The Life
  9. Key's In The Conch Shell
  10. Nowhere To Go, Nowhere To Be
  11. That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day) (With Willie Nelson)
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - A-L
  6. Kenny Chesney - Lucky Old Sun Review - Review of Kenny Chesney's Lucky Old Sun album

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.