1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Mary Chapin Carpenter - Come Darkness, Come Light: Twelve Songs Of Christmas,

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


Mary Chapin Carpenter - 'Come Darkness, Come Light: Twelve Songs of Christmas'

Mary Chapin Carpenter - 'Come Darkness, Come Light: Twelve Songs of Christmas'

Rounder Records

Come Darkness, Come Light Bottom Line:

Christmas time is the season for giving and that is exactly what country music entertainer, Mary Chapin Carpenter is doing. Fans can hear a new collection of Christmas favorites that have been written by Mary, along with a couple of classics mixed into the album. The whole record gives off a calming vibe that is perfect for any holiday event. Mary has a voice that is great anytime of the year, but for Christmas, her voice is golden.

About Mary Chapin Carpenter

Mary Chapin Carpenter has become one of the most respected women in country music history. When she appeared on the country music scene back in the early 90s, fans flocked to her concerts and really grasped the sound she was trying to create. Her music covered a wide range of styles, but the one that she ultimately stayed consistent with was a natural, acoustic version of modern day country music.

"Down At The Twist And Shout," "I Feel Lucky," "He Thinks He'll Keep Her" and "I Take My Chances" all became huge hits for her, but other tunes like "Almost Home" and "This Shirt" quickly became fan favorites.

It is always great when artists offer a wide range of musical talent to their audiences. It offers fans a variety, not just the same old sounds. Upon the release of The Calling, fans were able to follow the different things that Mary had experienced over the past few years since being off of the mainstream circuit. When considering the path that she has taken over the past few years, it was no shock to find out her Christmas album Come Darkness, Come Light: Twelve Songs of Christmas would continue to carry on her dry, acoustic sound.

If you ever have a chance to see her perform live, you will understand what it is like to get caught up in the Mary Chapin Carpenter experience. She holds the entire audience in the palm of her hand as she performs her set. Hopefully with the release of this Christmas record, Mary Chapin Carpenter will go on tour and share her music during this upcoming holiday season.

Come Darkness, Come Light - The Songs:

Right from the start, this album proves that it will stand the test of time. It is not a typical Christmas album that people come to expect this time of year, but it does offer some awesome tunes that you will not hear anywhere else. The first track is a humble tune called "Once in Royal David's City." It tells the story of the night Jesus was born and gives an interesting look into all of the little details that transpired during that night.

"Hot Buttered Rum" is awesome. Sometimes people get the "winter blues," and this song explains how some people keep it from happening by leaning on their better half.

Mary Chapin Carpenter also had a hand in writing a few of the songs on this record, and one of them is the title track. There is a nice piano playing in the background and this again showcases the true meaning behind Christmas.

"The Longest Night Of The Year" is an amazing tune. This is kind of a love song. People deal with all sorts of emotions, but when it gets dark early and there isn't a lot to do, people try to find things to do and ways to feel safe.

The song that brings Come Darkness, Come Light to a close is "Children, Go Where I Send Thee." This is one of the few traditional songs that is featured on this record. If you think back to when you were a child and sitting in church singing this song, memories are bound to flood your mind. Everything mentioned are things straight from the Bible.

Unless you are just a fan of traditional Christmas songs, this album is something everyone should be able to enjoy.

Release Date: September 30, 2008 - Zoe Records

Come Darkness, Come Light Track List:

  1. Once In Royal David's City
  2. Hot Buttered Rum
  3. Still, Still, Still
  4. On A Quiet Christmas Morn
  5. Come Darkness, Come Light
  6. Christmas Time In The City
  7. Candlelight Carol
  8. The Longest Night Of The Year
  9. Thanksgiving Song
  10. Bells Are Ringing
  11. Christmas Carol
  12. Children, Go Where I Send Thee
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - A-L
  6. Mary Chapin Carpenter - Come Darkness, Come Light: Twelve Songs Of Christmas Review - Review of Mary Chapin Carpenter's Come Darkness, Come Light Holi

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.