1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Toby Keith - That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating
User Rating 5 Star Rating (1 Review)


Toby Keith - 'That Don't Make Me The Bad Guy'

Toby Keith - 'That Don't Make Me The Bad Guy'

Showdog Nashville

That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy Bottom Line:

The latest CD by Toby Keith is called That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy. Released on Show Dog Nashville, it includes his latest No. 1 single "She Never Cried In Front Of Me." And unlike his past few CD's, this one is a little edgier musically, but still maintains that traditional Toby Keith country sound.

That Don't Make Me a Bad Guy Review:

Lately, Toby Keith has been firing out new CD's like baseballs in a batting cage. You barely swing at one, and there's another one comin' atcha. His latest release is That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy. It's his 13th studio album over all, and his 5th to be released on his own Show Dog record label. With 11 tracks total, this has to be one of the most solid offerings from Toby in a while. This is to take nothing away from his more recent releases which were also quite good in their own right. But this CD finds Toby back at the top of his game both lyrically as well as musically. It includes his most recent No. 1 single "She Never Cried In Front Of Me." This song, along with the 10 others makes this one of the most energetic and entertaining CD's Toby Keith has released in a while.

The lead off track is also the title track of the CD. It comes ripping out of your speakers like a bull out of the gate in a rodeo. "That Don't Make Me A bad Guy" is a tongue in cheek song that makes the statement, I'm still a good guy even if I like to live life a little over the edge on the wild and crazy side. Don't hate me because I like to let it rip and have a little fun.

The first single "She Never Cried In Front Of Me" shot straight to No. 1. It's about the failed relationship. She's unhappy and kept her pain to herself, and he was clueless until it was too late and she's moved on to someone new. For some reason, guys just never get it until she's gone. This song is a typical case in point.

"God Love Her" is a powerful, guitar driven song about the 17-year-old wild child preacher's daughter who meets up with the local bad boy and they head west to California on his motorcycle to make a life together. A parent's worst nightmare.

"Lost You Anyway" is another song about the idiot guy who finally gets a clue as to how he didn't do enough to keep his lady love around. And now that she's gone, the light finally comes on and he sees the error of his ways. If nothing else, men who are clueless make for good country songs.

Another fine example is the song "You Already Love Me." He knows that she could do better than him. And even if he tends to make her crazy from time to time, she still loves him anyway in spite of his faults. And isn't that what love's really all about?

"Time That It Would Take" is a country rocker with attitude. With lyrics like "in the time it would take me to tell you where I've been, honey I could take you places you ain't never been before." While she's more concerned with where he's been, he's thinking about where he wants to go. This is one you can't help but crank up.

The CD closes with a slow sexy rocker called "I Got It For You Girl." It's about getting tangled up in the emotions and in the sheets with the one you love because she rocks your world, and you want her to know how much she means to you, and how much you need her in your life.

That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy is a guitar driven, rock solid country CD that every Toby Keith fan will love. He delivers all 11 tracks like an iron fist with a velvet glove.

Release date: October 28, 2008 - Show Dog Nashville

That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy Track List:

  1. That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy
  2. Creole Woman
  3. God Love Her
  4. Lost You Anyway
  5. Missing Me Some You
  6. Hurt A Lot Worse When You Go
  7. Time That It Would Take
  8. You Already Love Me
  9. She Never Cried In Front Of Me
  10. Cabo San Lucas
  11. I Got It For You Girl
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - A-L
  6. Toby Keith - That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy Review - Review of Toby Keith's That Don't Make Me A Bad Guy CD

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.