1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Collin Raye - 'A Family Christmas'

About.com Rating 4.5 Star Rating


Collin Raye - 'A Family Christmas'

Collin Raye - 'A Family Christmas'

Star Pointe Records

A Family Christmas Bottom Line

Collin Raye has become one of the most recognized artists in country music history and with the release of A Family Christmas, his fans can enjoy a new interpretation of their favorite Christmas tunes. Prepare yourself for a journey that will help you enjoy the holiday season year after year, as Collin sings a total of ten tracks that was recorded before a live audience. The only thing that this record requires is a CD player and a nice cup of hot chocolate to help the listener enjoy it even more.

About Collin Raye

Whenever someone mentions Collin Raye's name, it is impossible to discuss everything that he has accomplished during his nearly twenty years in country music. His musical career started when he was just a teenager. As he got older, his performances improved and it became clear that this is what he wanted to do for a living.

His first big break came in 1991 when he released his smash hit "Love, Me." As soon as this song hit the charts, it headed straight for the top. Throughout the years, this has become a common song at funerals and memorial services.

Collin Raye has always focused on songs that dealt with life and love, but in the end, every song has to have a meaning. He proved this when he recorded a song that dealt with the results of alcoholism called "Little Rock." Regardless of how many times this song is played, the subject comes out strong.

One tune that Collin has released that has a happier subject is "In This Life," which deals with a couple who is in love and getting married.

In total, Collin Raye has achieved five platinum albums, fifteen number one hits, and an impressive twenty four top ten hits. In case you are not familiar with Collin's heart, he is one of the most giving people in the world. Over the course of his career, he has supported countless charities that include Boys Town, First Steps, Al-Anon, Special Olympics, Country Cares About Aids, Catholic Relief Services, Parade Of Pennies, Vanderbilt Children's Hospital, The Tennessee Task Force Against Domestic Violence, and countless others.

A Family Christmas - The Songs

Christmas albums are typically great to review, and this one is no different. It is full of the classics that everyone looks forward to hearing during the holiday season. There are ten tracks in all, and the first one is "The Christmas Song." As soon as it starts, it is clear that this record is perfect for everything from Christmas parties to opening presents. This song has a special energy that offers the listener a warm feeling. There is nothing like it.

One thing that I was a little apprehensive about was the fact that this is a live album. Sometimes hearing the audience in the background adds to the ambience, but it just didn't seem right for a Christmas album. Well, that idea was shot down when Collin started talking to the fans about the troops and how "I'll Be Home For Christmas" was dedicated to them and their families. That was hard to swallow and brought to life the fact that there are countless people who is missing someone they are close to during the holidays.

"It Could Happen Again" is another amazing song and is the only original on this record. It is about a battle during World War I, when both sides stopped fighting under a white flag in order to celebrate Christmas. This story is awesome.

Picking things back up with "Winter Wonderland," Collin shows off his playful side by giving this track a totally different arrangement than ever before.

"I'm Dreaming Of A White Christmas" is a personal favorite and once you've heard Collin's version, you will understand why.

Bringing this spectacular record to an end is the classic "O Holy Night." Collin Raye's A Family Christmas is classic, yet fun, which puts it into whole new Christmas category.

Release Date: November 21, 2008 - Star Pointe Records

A Family Christmas Track List

  1. The Christmas Song
  2. Angels We Have Heard On High
  3. I'll Be Home For Christmas
  4. It Could Happen Again
  5. Winter Wonderland
  6. Away In A Manger
  7. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
  8. I'm Dreaming Of A White Christmas
  9. Silent Night
  10. O Holy Night
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - M-Z
  6. Collin Raye - A Family Christmas Review - Review of Collin Raye's A Family Christmas CD

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.