1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Mel Tillis - Southern Rain

About.com Rating 5 Star Rating


Mel Tillis - Southern Rain

Mel Tillis - Southern Rain

Collector's Choice
Bottom Line:

One of country music's finest albums is finally being released on CD. If you owned the original record of Mel Tillis' Southern Rain and have been waiting to modernize your collection to a compact disc, well here's your chance. Collector's Choice Music is re-releasing three albums and this is just one of them. There is no denying that this has been a long time in the waiting.

There is no better way to describe this album other than it's awesome. Although I was not in the world when this was recorded, I have fallen in love with the classic hits that Mel Tillis recorded on Elektra Records over twenty five years ago.

Since the mid 1950's, Mel has been a huge part of country music. He has written some of the biggest songs for some of country music's finest. Bobby Bare recorded "Detroit City" and Kenny Rogers recorded "Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town," just to name a few. As soon as I heard that Collector's Choice Music was re-releasing three of Mel Tillis' records that have been out of print, getting them was a must.

Although Mel Tillis' popularity declined, like most artists of his time, it has sky rocketed once again. Last year he became a member of the Grand Ole Opry and was inducted to the Country Music Hall Of Fame. So re-releasing some of his earlier projects seemed to be the only right thing to do. Mel's fans are the foundation of his career and he knows it. This is a perfect way for his fans to be able to add these great albums to their collection.

The cover is the same as when it was on vinyl. The first song on this incredible album is the title track. There is all sorts of things that we relate to when we are homesick, and rain is the one thing that takes him back home.

It wouldn't be an country music record if there wasn't a song about a one night stand. Well, don't worry about that. Mel Tillis can sing about cruising a bar room better than anyone. He can also sing about those one night situations better than anyone else. He proves that on "One Night Fever." If you thought this song was about the twenty four hour flu, you're wrong.

Have you ever walked down the street, or went to a store, and ran into your ex? Well, that's what happened to Mel. He simply looked at her and told her "Time Has Treated You Well." Running into her opened up the flood gates to every other emotion he possessed.

This is truly a classic country song that everyone needs to hear. A personal favorite is "Pyramid Of Cans." This tune could be played in any honky tonk across the county. We have all drank our sorrows away at one point or another, but Mel keeps his buried beneath the beer cans that he drinks.

It's funny, every time I think I have heard a song that can't be out done, a song just as good comes up. "Louisiana Lonely" is outstanding. Again, it just doesn't get any "countrier" than this. He is telling his better half how lonely he is since she left, "and without you here, I'm bayou blue." The wording in each of these songs are unbelievable.

Once you have this album, it's clear you're listening to country music perfection. If this is any indication, the best thing this summer won't be thunder storms, but simply Southern Rain.

Release Date: April 29, 2008 - Collector's Choice Music

Track List:

  1. Southern Rain
  2. One Night Fever
  3. Time Has Treated You Well
  4. Million Old Goodbyes
  5. Shame On You Shame On Me
  6. Pyramid Of Cans
  7. Forgive Me For Giving You The Blue
  8. Here's Lookin' At You
  9. Louisiana Lonely
  10. Sweet Desire
Related Video
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - M-Z
  6. Mel Tillis - Southern Rain

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.