1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Rascal Flatts - Still Feels Good

About.com Rating 5 Star Rating


Rascal Flatts - Still Feels Good

Rascal Flatts - Still Feels Good

Lyric Street Records
Bottom Line:

Still Feels Good is the sixth album for super group Rascal Flatts. It enjoyed unheard of sales records in its first week of release and the debut single, "Take Me There," became their eighth number one single. The chemistry that these guys share comes through loud and clear in their music, and this is a fun album to listen to.

Over the last several years Lyric Street Recording Artists Rascal Flatts have systematically proven wrong everyone who thought they were just another pretty boy band with all looks and no talent. Individually they all have talent, but when combined their talents become an amazing phenomenon that only pops up rarely in the industry. It seems that everything they touch turns Gold or Platinum. This new release is no exception, having sold over 500,000 units the first week. This made it the top selling debut week of any country act this year. And at over five million albums sold last year they are also the top selling artist in any genre of music. What is their secret? It has to be simple chemistry that has just the right mix. Gary Levox and Jay DeMarcus are second cousins. Joe Don Rooney is a friend that they invited to fill in several years ago when their guitar player wasn't feeling well. They liked the resulting sound and recorded a few demos. They were heard by the right people at Lyric Street and the rest as they say is history. Anyone who has ever gone to a Rascal Flatts concert can tell you that the energy level and onstage chemistry is off the charts. And through it all the guys have remained steady and down to earth.
Rascal Flatts

Rascal Flatts

Lyric Street
Still Feels Good is the sixth album for super group Rascal Flatts. It was produced Dan Huff and Rascal Flatts and is already well on the way to breaking new records for the group. As always, they have included songs from some of the best writers in Nashville – Jeffrey Steele, Wendell Mobley and Neil Thrasher just to name a couple. In addition, their current single and No. 1 smash hit, "Take Me There" is co-written by country powerhouse Kenny Chesney. The album also shows off the versatility and talents of Rascal Flatts as songwriters. They contributed to the songwriting on five of the thirteen tracks. One of those, "She Goes All the Way," also offers a first ever duet from the group with Jamie Foxx.

Lyrically, the album delves into a variety of things. "Take Me There," "Still Feels Good" and "Here" are all songs that touch on true love and the power of a soul mate. "Reins" is about the freedom found in making the choice to leave a bad relationship behind. "Bob that Head" is simply a fun and up-tempo song about riding in a tricked out truck while blasting the stereo. The closing song, "It's Not Supposed to Go Like That," tackles the subject of kids with guns and teens who choose to drink and drive. The album has a great sound and it flows well throughout the entire listening experience.

Another thing worth mentioning in regards to this album is that depending on where you make your purchase, they are offering various extras. Wal-Mart has an exclusive CMT 2-Pack with Bonus DVD. Target has an exclusive 2-disc set. 5 never released songs, including 4 written and produced by Rascal Flatts. Best Buy has an exclusive 2 disc set including a 1-hour audio interview with Rascal Flatts. Exclusive and unique posters are also available at K*Mart, Hastings, Circuit City and F.Y.E.

Track List:

  1. Take Me There * Video Clip
  2. Here
  3. Bob That Head
  4. Help me Remember
  5. Still Feels Good
  6. Winner at a Losing Game
  7. No Reins
  8. Every Day
  9. Secret Smile
  10. Better Now
  11. She Goes All the Way
  12. How Strong Are You Now
  13. It's Not Supposed to go Like That
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - M-Z
  6. Rascal Flatts - Still Feels Good

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.