1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Travis Tritt - The Very Best of Travis Tritt

About.com Rating 5 Star Rating


Travis Tritt - The Very Best of Travis Tritt

Travis Tritt - The Very Best of Travis Tritt

Rhino Records
Bottom Line:

The Very Best of Travis Tritt delivers exactly what is promised in the title. This 20 track gem has all five of Tritt's number one's, and almost all the other songs were in the top ten. This project from Rhino Records is musical food for the soul and you can't go wrong with picking up a copy for your collection.

Travis Tritt hit the country music scene about 15 years ago and has kept the industry guessing exactly what genre they should slide him into. But there is no guesswork involved when it comes to his talent. His penchant for dressing in leather and letting his hair flow loose to his shoulders gave him the label of outlaw. His sound can fit his look with hits like "T-R-O-U-B-L-E" and "Here's a Quarter (Call Someone Who Cares)." But this outlaw is just as much at home grabbing a banjo and picking along with Earl Scruggs. Or he can belt out stone cold country tunes that have people comparing him to George Jones, or sing the Blues alongside artists like Patti LaBelle or Buddy Guy. Every time someone thinks they have him stereotyped, he blows their theory out of the water and proves that his talents won't fit inside any box that is out there. His creativity is limitless. Out of the 20 tracks on this album, Tritt also wrote or co-wrote 10 of them.
You will find almost all of your favorite Travis Tritt songs included on this project. Long time Tritt friend, Marty Stuart, joins in on "This One's Gonna Hurt You (For a Long, Long Time)" and "The Whiskey Ain't Workin'." There are powerful ballads like "Can I Trust You With My Heart," a song Tritt wrote when becoming involved with current wife Theresa. He'd been through some rough relationships and just wasn't sure if he would be able to hand his heart over to someone else. Seven years later, they are very much in love and their family is five strong. "It's A Great Day To Be Alive" was the first single after leaving Warner Brothers and hooking up with Sony/Columbia. It had a positive and upbeat message and Tritt felt that it was a great fit for him. "Where Corn Don't Grow" is a song with a bluesy feel to it. It talks about how people always seem to feel that the grass is greener somewhere else, but that is rarely the way it is. All in all, this album is very well put together. It showcases Tritt's incredible talents not only as a songwriter but as a very versatile vocalist. And while this album is being released with old favorites, Tritt has been working on his debut album on the Category 5 label that will be released in the summer of 2007 and contain songs sure to be new favorites. Be sure and keep an eye out for the upcoming release.

Song List:

  1. It's A Great Day to Be Alive
  2. Take It Easy
  3. Here's A Quarter, Call Someone Who Cares
  4. Anymore
  5. Country Club
  6. Help Me Hold On
  7. Where Corn Don't Grow
  8. Best of Intentions
  9. I'm Gonna Be Somebody
  10. Can I Trust You With My Heart
  11. Foolish Pride
  12. Lord Have Mercy on the Working Man
  13. Nothing Short of Dying
  14. More Than You'll Ever Know
  15. Sometimes She Forgets
  16. This One's Gonna Hurt You (For A Long, Long Time) w/Marty Stuart
  17. Tell Me I Was Dreaming
  18. Drift Off to Dream
  19. The Whiskey Ain't Workin' - w/Marty Stuart
  20. T-R-O-U-B-L-E
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - M-Z
  6. Travis Tritt - The Very Best of Travis Tritt

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.