1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Martina McBride - Waking Up Laughing

About.com Rating 5 Star Rating


Martina McBride - Waking Up Laughing

Martina McBride - Waking Up Laughing

RCA Nashville
Bottom Line:

Martina McBride returns with her ninth studio album on RCA records entitled 'Waking Up Laughing.' It's her first studio album of all new material in four years. And on this project, Martina wears many hats, as she is the producer, artist and writer. The current single "Anyway" is just one of the 11 new tracks on this new CD that is filled with Martina's brand of feisty up tempo country, as well as her tender ballads. A must have for any Martina fan!

Martina McBride's ninth studio album is entitled Waking Up Laughing. Creating this CD was a true labor of love for Martina that was eight months in the making. Released on RCA records, it's her first CD of all new material in four years. This is Martina's first studio CD where she is not only the artist, she is also the writer as well as first time producer. In her 15 year career, Martina has racked up 16 million in sales, 22 top 10 singles. These include six number ones that had crossover success in several different genres, as well as numerous CMA and ACM awards along with several national television appearances. The CD starts off with the fiddle-laced country rocker called "If I Had Your Name." With lyrics like, "You're like a new key made with the wrong cut/Stuck tryin' to break into my home/You're like a bottle sent with a message/But you're sinkin' like a stone/If I had your name/I'd be changin' it by now." It's about getting that old love completely out of your life for good. "Cry Cry ('Til The Sun Shines)" This song is filled with hope while assuring us that everything's going to be alright. It tells three different stories about overcoming obstacles on the path of love and finding our way through to the other side of heartache. The song is reminiscent of other Martina hits such as "My Baby Loves Me" and "Wild Angels." And Keith Urban plays guitar and sings a duet with Martina on the lovely ballad "Tryin' to Find a Reason." It's about facing the fact that the relationship is over, so it's best to just end it and move on.
And with lyrics like "we hide behind unsure, pull the blinds and lock the door and hang a pleasant picture on the wall," "For These Times" is a song that reflects the troubled times we live in today. "Anyway" is the first single from the album and is one of three songs on the album to be co-written by Martina. It's a song about hope and faith. That when dreams don't come true, dream them anyway. And you can love someone for all the right reasons, but they can walk away without warning, but love them anyway. Just because something doesn't go our way doesn't mean that we have to miss out on the experience, or the lessons learned from it. "How I Feel" also co-written by Martina is a song about those special things in our life that bring us happiness like confetti, snow on Christmas Eve, the first day of fall, Being in your hometown on the Forth of July, standing up for what you believe in and compares them to the feelings you have for the one you love. "I'll Still Be Me" is a beautiful ballad That was actually written about Martina and her husband John. It's a song that talks about that one true love that we all hope to find one day. It's a testament to those who have found their soul mate in life. "Everybody Does" is probably the catchiest song on the whole album. We fall in love, we get hurt and then we swear that we will never do it again, but "everybody does." Martina's Waking Up Laughing has well been worth the wait. The songs are filled with attitude, heartbreak, love, compassion and fun.

Track List:

  1. "If I Had Your Name"
  2. "Cry Cry ('Til the Sun Shines)"
  3. "Tryin' To Find A Reason"
  4. "For These Times"
  5. "Anyway"
  6. "How I Feel"
  7. "I'll Still Be Me"
  8. "Beautiful Again"
  9. "Everybody Does"
  10. "House of A Thousand Dreams"
  11. "Love Land"
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - M-Z
  6. Martina McBride - Waking Up Laughing

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.