1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Charley Pride - 'The Essential Charley Pride'

About.com Rating 5 Star Rating


Charley Pride - Essential Charley Pride

Charley Pride - Essential Charley Pride

Legacy Recordings

The Bottom Line

Charley Pride is a legend in country music and a member of the Grand Ole Opry which he joined in 1993. This 2-CD set is a great retrospective of his more than 25 years of recording with RCA Records. It includes many of his hits and gospel classics from the late 1960's through the mid 1980's. Note: This was originally released by BMG in 2003 as "Charley Pride - Anthology."
<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->


  • "Is Anybody Goin' to San Antone"
  • "Kiss An Angel Good Mornin'"
  • "You're So Good When You're Bad"


  • None


  • This collection contains 40 tracks on 2 discs.
  • Released on RCA/Legacy.
  • Compilation Produced by Rob Santos and Gretchen Brennison.

Guide Review - Charley Pride - 'The Essential Charley Pride'

Charley Frank Pride was born in 1938 in a little town called Sledge, Mississippi. He was the fourth of 11 children born to Mack and Tessie Pride. Now fast forward to a small concert in 1962, in Helena, Montana hosted by Red Foley and Red Sovine. When Charley Pride sang "Heartaches by the Number" and "Lovesick Blues" It turned out to be the starting point for a legend in the making. Charley Pride is without question the most successful African-American singer in country music. He joined the Grand Ole Opry in 1993, even though he had a standing invitation to join since the late 1960's. He also became a member of the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2000.

This 2-CD collection is a solid retrospective of the hits, the gospel greats and love songs that made Charley Pride famous. Everyone remembers hits like "Kiss An Angel Good Mornin'," "Is Anybody Goin' to San Antone" and the 1982 hit "Why Baby Why." But this collection offers other such memorable classics as "I Can't Believe That You Stopped Loving Me," "Just Between You And Me," "I Know One," "Kaw-liga," "She's Too Good To Be True" and the 1971 Gospel great "Did You Think To Pray."

The Essential Charley Pride is a must have for anyone who loves traditional country music at its best. Charley Pride remains one of RCA's all-time best-selling artists. One final note worth mentioning. This collection was originally released in 2003 under the title Anthology. But no matter what you call it, it's country music at its finest.

<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Country Music
  4. Country Music Reviews
  5. CD Reviews - M-Z
  6. Charley Pride - The Essential Charley Pride Review - Review of Charley Pride's Essential Charley Pride CD

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.